Leadership Tomorrow Applications Now Available!

Leadership Tomorrow Applications Now Available

Published Friday, February 19, 2016 11:32 am

The Lufkin/Angelina County Chamber of Commerce is celebrating the 25th year of Leadership Tomorrow and applications are now available to be a member of this benchmark class of 2016-2017. Don’t miss this one-time chance to have this experience during your junior year of high school!  All applications are due by April 1, 2016.  

Leadership Tomorrow, hosted by the Chamber, was designed for high school, private school, and home school juniors in Angelina County and mirrors the Leadership Lufkin program.  Students in the program have the benefit of learning about Angelina County first hand, exploring possible career opportunities that exist in this area, and giving back to the community through volunteer service and volunteer projects.

The class year will begin with a reception in October to welcome students and to thank their sponsors. During the following seven months, students will attend a total of five sessions that focus on social services, health care, education and government in Angelina County.  During this time the students will also work on three community volunteer projects and close out the year with graduation in April.

The Chamber would like to thank all of the program sponsors for 2016-2017.  Session sponsors are as follows:  Chick-fil-A South Loop Crossing will sponsor the class shirts.  The Welcome Reception will be sponsored by Consolidated Communications, and Graduation will be sponsored by Trent Ashby for State Representative.  This year’s session sponsors are The Coalition, Walmart, and Whataburger. Bonnie Dowdy of Music World will be the Leadership Tomorrow Chairman.  A very special thanks is extended to all these individuals and companies for making this program possible.

 Applications and tentative schedules for the program are available on-line at www.leadershiptomorrowlufkin.com, high school counselors’ offices, and the Chamber at 1615 S. Chestnut in Lufkin.

The deadline for all applications is April 1, 2016. For more information, contact Susie Cardwell at (936) 634-6644 or at scardwell@lufkintexas.org.