Leadership Tomorrow Applications

Published Thursday, January 25, 2018

 The Lufkin/Angelina County Chamber of Commerce will be celebrating the 27th year of the Leadership Tomorrow program. Applications are now available  for submission to the 2018-2019 class. Don’t miss this one-time chance to have this experience during your junior year of high school!  All applications are due by March 28, 2018.  

Leadership Tomorrow, hosted by the Chamber, was designed for high school, private school, charter school, and home school juniors in Angelina County and mirrors the Leadership Lufkin program.  Students in the program have the benefit of learning about Angelina County first hand, exploring possible career opportunities that exist in this area, and giving back to the community through volunteer service and volunteer projects.

The class year will begin with a reception in October to welcome students and to thank their sponsors. During the following seven months, students will attend a total of five sessions that focus on social services, health care, education, quality of life, local economy, financial services, and government in Angelina County.  During this time the students will also work on three community volunteer projects and close out the year with graduation in April.          

The Chamber would like to thank all of the program sponsors for 2018-2019.  Presenting sponsor is JM Chevrolet Cadillac and shirt sponsor is Chick-fil-A South Loop Crossing.  The Welcome Reception will be sponsored by Consolidated Communications, and Graduation will be sponsored by State Representative Trent Ashby.  Luftex Gears is sponsoring the ropes course event and the session sponsors are:  Angelina Beautiful/Clean, The Coalition, Walmart, and Whataburger. 

The program is chaired by Steve Killam of St. Paul’s United Methodist Church. The Leadership Tomorrow Committee is made up of the following Leadership Lufkin graduates:   Will Alvis of Merrill Lynch, Maci Dover of Whataburger, Sam Johnson of Mike Love & Associates, Joy Scott-Killam of CHI St. Luke’s Health Memorial, Matt Knight of The Advanced Financial Group, Taylor Kovar of Kovar Capital, Shell Lockhart of Goodwill Industries of Central East Texas, Lauren Stacy of the City of Lufkin Economic Development, Glenda Wynne of Consolidated Communications, and Britany Vinson of Tomé Catering.   A very special thanks is extended to all these individuals and companies for making this program possible.

Applications, the program schedule, brochures and more are available on-line at www.leadershiptomorrowlufkin.com, high school counselors’ offices, and the Lufkin/Angelina County Chamber fo Commerce at 1615 S. Chestnut in Lufkin.

The deadline for all applications is March 28, 2018. For more information, contact Susie Cardwell at (936) 634-6644 or at scardwell@lufkintexas.org.