Jack O. (Butch) McMullen Silver Spike Award

Since 1991, Leadership Lufkin has annually selected an outstanding graduate of the program to honor with the Silver Spike Award. Named in memory of Butch McMullen of the Angelina and Neches River Railroad, the award is presented to a graduate of at least 10 years who has excelled in their role as a leader in all areas of their life.

The winner of this award will have exhibited the following characteristics that were exemplified by Butch McMullen:

  • A leader and role model in profession, church, and/or community
  • A strong positive influence and source of encouragement to others to be actively involved in the community and make a positive difference.
  • An avid planner with a heart and vision for the future of Angelina County

The recipient of this award will be announced at the October First Friday Luncheon on October 1st at the Crown Colony Country Club. Nomination forms can be found at the Chamber offices or online. Completed forms must be submitted by Friday, September 10. For more information please contact
Administrative Assistant, Heather Holiday at [email protected] or call 936-634-6644.

Click Here for Nomination Form


Jack O. (Butch) McMullen Silver Spike Award Winners

1991- Trey Henderson

1992- Sheila Telford

1993- Dr. Patricia McKenzie     

1994- Ronnie Robinson

1995- Kevin Smithhart

1996- Bettie Williams Ivie

1997- Connie Kennedy

1998- David Perkins

1999- Patricia Jones

2000- Dr. Sidney Roberts

2001- Bonnie Denmon

2002- Debbie Brown

2003- Randy George

2004- Todd Kassaw

2005- Andra Self

2006- Emily Watts

2007- Anita Caraway

2008- Judge Paul White

2009- James Slack

2010- Libby Allen

2011- Carl Ray Polk, Jr.

2012- John Havard

2013- Curtis W. Fenley, III

2014- Christopher S. Moss

2015- Jeff Todd

2016- Dana Smithhart

2017- Trent Ashby

2018- Ray Ann Baker

2019- Mary King

2020-Julie Walker

2021-Lynne Haney